Love at First Bite

 

By Rosalie Capri

 

It all started with a cleverly planned luncheon set up by my mom at her favorite Italian bistro. In my family, being a 36 year-old single daughter of an Italian mother also meant, I would be engaging in a lot of strategic small talk. This specifically designed defense tactic was necessary to prevent another one of my mom’s attempts to rescue my lost love life. (Or, as I like to refer to it, the “you aren’t getting any younger dear” pep talks.)

 

Halfway through my pasta pomadoro, I look across the table to see my mom smiling back at me. Her eyes appeared glazed with the look of a deranged match maker.

 

As she clears her throat and puts down her glass of wine, I quietly think to myself, here it comes; quick take cover, hide, under the table. But it’s too late, I’m trapped. And then I hear it, the phrase that would send many single daughters asking for the check and running for the door.

”Listen dear, there’s someone I want you to meet.”

 

Still nursing a broken heart from my recent canceled wedding engagement, suddenly my mind flooded with flashbacks of previous blind dates all destined for doom and arranged by my mom. The images of all those Mr. Wrongs are still too scary to recall. Quickly I snap back to reality and pour myself another glass of wine. Meanwhile my mom continues her sales pitch.

 

“He comes from a great family and is really cute. He’s got a little stubborn streak in him just like you. I know you two will hit it off. Dear, I think it’s time you let someone special back in your life. Don’t you want someone to share your days with? What about someone to make you laugh again?”

 

Still clutching my wine glass like 007 before his next dangerous mission, I finish off my glass of wine, swallow my pride, and accept my mom’s challenge to meet Mr. wonderful.

heart

The next morning I arrive early at my neighborhood coffee shop. I was anxious to get a sneak peek at my mom’s version of “cute”. My mom tells me that my date will be wearing white pants a black shirt and carrying a red rose. While sitting outside with my latte I suddenly spot my mom walking across the dog park holding a long red leash. At the other end of the leash is a small white dog wearing, you guessed it, a black shirt with a red rose attached to his collar.

 

As the two approached me, my mom introduces me to “Bogart” a puppy rescued from a local shelter. I knelt down to greet my Mr. wonderful and I’m met with wet kisses on my chin. It was love at first sight. Just looking into his soulful black eyes healed my broken heart.

“Hello Cutie” I said.

 

I smile and laugh as I see his floppy white ears perk up as his little head tilts to one side. It was then I knew I had just found my new best friend. One whom I knew would anxiously wait for me to come home. A welcoming companion that would sit by my side and listen with devoted attention as I rambled on about my day. (What else could a woman ask?)

 

Thankfully, this time mom’s matching making was right on target. This four-legged fluff ball was the perfect match for me. We have been together for 12 years, and although we both had a rough start searching for that special someone; it was when we found each other, that we found our forever love.

###

 

Leave a comment

Whipped Up Miami

"I'm just a woman with a whip looking for a strong man with a chair." - Mistress Venom

LUST N LATTES

Tantalizing talk about lust and love!

Passionswriter's Blog

Rosalie's journalism stories published during her editorship at Paradise Valley College

ROSALIE CAPRI

I'm a writer, I live, lust and love by different rules!